The early Christmas presents just keep coming as we were gifted yet again with more holiday bangers! As of Friday Nov. 9, not only have we received Tech N9ne‘s The Storm and Post Malone‘s Stoney (more on each below), but J. Cole dropped his much-anticipated fourth studio album 4 Your Eyez Only. The man of many mixtapes and zero features has officially released the 10 track project which, as it turns out, does not include the previously released shots-fired-records, “False Prophets” or “Everybody Dies”.

RELATED POST: [VIDEO] J. Cole Goes On A Dissing Spree & Wale Responds

It is apparent that Cole has taken a different route with this album as it doesn’t sound like his previously gone platinum albums, Born Sinner and Forest Hills Drive. Many listeners believe that 4YEO is actually his actual-assumed friend’s (James McMillian Jr.) story of hustling the streets, getting caught up and having his life taken, which is all being explained to his friend’s daughter, Nina. Although the project is directly about Cole, it does however parallel he and his friends’ lives.

The tracklist and its content tells the story flawlessly and is clearly summarized on the last track, “4 Your Eyez Only”. Where Cole reveals that McMillan told him to retell his story to his daughter: “Write my story down and if I pass / Go play it for my daughter when she ready / And so I’m leaving you this record for your eyes only”.

Track 1 “For Whom The Bell Tolls” – refers to bells ringing at a funeral, which we later learn to be of his assumed friend, James McMillan Jr.

Track 2 “Immortal” – Cole depicts the life of a young man (assumed to be McMillan) who sells drugs to get out of poverty.

Track 3 “Deja Vu” – Cole speaks on several societal subjects including toxic masculainity (aka bravado/machismo), mass incarceration, poice brutality, and other issues within the black community.

Track 4 “Ville Mentality” – Cole shares a spoken interlude via a young girl (assumed to be McMillian’s daughter Nina).

Track 5 “She’s Mine, Pt. 1” – Cole tells the story of a young man meeting a girl and falling in love.

Track 6 “Change” -Cole remembers seeing his friend’s murder reported on the news leading to his funeral.

Track 7 “Neighbors” – Cole wishes for his neighbors to accept him as a successful rapper instead of sterotyping him as a drug dealer.

Track 8 ” Foldin Clothes” – After falling in love on track 5, Cole raps about reconsidering priorities and settling down for a family.

Track 9 “She’s Mine, Pt. 2” – Cole recounts the birth of a child who’s life continues to inspire a life transformation.

Track 10 “4 Your Eyez Only” – Cole spells out McMillan’s biggest fear coming true: his daughter coming home to see her father killed.

Whether James McMillan Jr. and Nina are real or fictitious, the story is relatable to the millions of young men who’s lives have ended the same. President of Dreamville, Ibrahaim Hamad tweeted the following to ensure the album and Cole’s objective.

techn9nethestormTech N9ne’s The Storm was also released on Dec. 9 comprised of 20 tracks sectioned into three parts: “Kingdom” (Tech’s braggadocious side), “Clown Town” (featuring the darkest tracks of the album) and “G Zone” (more on the gangster life). Tech has definitely had a hard time delivering the album that was originally due Sept. 9. Prior to the drop, he experienced delays with his divorce, his aunt’s shooting and going on tour to promote the album, without the album.  Take a listen to the album below and let us know what you’re thinking.


  1. Godspeed
  2. Need Jesus (f. Stevie Stone & JL)
  3. Sriracha (f. Logic & Joyner Lucas)
  4. Wifi (skit)
  5. Wifi (WeeFee)
  6. Erbody But Me (f. Bizzy & Krizz Kaliko)
  7. Get Off Me (f. Problem & Darrein Safron)

Clown Town

  1. I Get It Now (f. Krizz Kaliko)
  2. Hold On Me (f. Kate Rose)
  3. Starting To Turn (f, Jonathan Davis)
  4. Poisoning The Well

G. Zone

  1. Buss Serves (f, Big Scoob & Young Devi D)
  2. No Runnin To Ya Mama
  3. Buddha (f. Boyz II Men & Adrian Truth)
  4. No Gun Control (f. Gary Clark Jr. & Krizz Kaliko)
  5. What If It Was Me (f. Krizz Kaliko)
  6. Anywhere (f, Marsha Ambrosius)
  7. Til I’m Gone (f, Kiddo A.I.)
  8. The Needle (f. Krizz Kaliko)
  9. The Long Way (f. Krizz Kaliko)


  1. Fuh What?
  2. Own Thang by J.L.
  3. Choosin (f. Brandoshis)
  4. Ignorance by Darrein Safron
  5. Deleted by Mackenzie Nicole
  6. Gridlock by Ces Cru
  7. Last Day Alive by Wreckonize
  8. Kansas City (f. The Popper & Rich the Factor)
  9. Wet
  10. Colossus by Murs
  11. Mind Kcuf (f. Krizz Kaliko)
  12. We’re Not Sorry (f. Mackenzie Nicole)

postmalonestoneyPost Malone’s debut album Stoney has finally arrived after emerging onto the scene just about two years ago with “White Iverson”. Originally due in March, the album based on the Dallas emcee’s nickname, includes 18 tracks, some which we’ve previously heard, “White Iverson”, “Too Young” and “Deja Vu”, etc. Malone sought features from Kehlani, Justin Bieber, 2 Chainz and Quavo. Listen to the album below and comment your initial thoughts below.

We’re still only in the middle of December and have yet to hear the releases from the following. Be sure to stay check back for more premieres and mentions.

Dec 16, 2016

  1. Kid Cudi – Passion, Pain & Demon Slayin’
  2. Gucci Mane – The Return of East Atlanta Santa
  3. The Lox – Filthy America …It’s Beautiful
  4. Trae Tha Truth & Mozzy – Trapped In

Dec 19, 2016

  1. Trev Rich – To Make A Long Story Short


  1. Drake – More Life

Share this post. Comment your favorite tracks so far below.

written by: ariela anís  |  ig: ari.anis  |  twitter: arielaanis